top of page

Digital Citizenship, Copyright and Creative Commons

In my last Educational Tech & Assessment Class I listened to my classmates presentations about digital citizenship. Which really got me

thinking about this new information and how I would

teach my art students about digital citizenship.

My Main Takeaways From Presentations:

  1. FERPA stands for Family Educational Rights & Privacy Act, this law protects students educational records. Such as address, email, phone number, and other private information from being shared. Teachers can only release students information to specific parties without parental consent. Examples of these parties would be other schools, judicial court, and health and safety.

  2. When it comes to sensitive topics it's better to talk to students face to face about them.

  3. Cyberbullying is a big problem in schools today. It's important to talk to students about how easily information shared online can be made public and to discuss how to protect themselves online.

  4. When teaching students about creditable websites it's important to teach them the four parts to a creditable source:Relevance, accuracy, perspective/bias and reliability.

  5. Some works aren't protected by copyright such as any work that hasn't been recorded in a tangible form.

  6. There are six types of creative common licenses: Attribution, AttributionSharAlike, Attributition NoDerivs, Attribution NonCommercial, Attribution- Noncommercial-ShareAlike, Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs.

  7. It's important as a teacher to have a digital professional presence to be able to be a model for students.

  8. Having an unprofessional digital presence can hinder your chances for being hired.

  9. There are Nine Elements to digital citizenship:law,etiquette, security, rights and responsibilities, health and wellness, literacy, communication, access and commerce.

  10. Teach students about their digital footprint.

How Can I Use This Information In My Classes?

I will definitely need to teach my students about digital citizenship and copyright before introducing any assignments which require researching artwork, art techniques or artists online. I can also have my students set up their own digital portfolios for their artwork online and prior to introducing that assignment I'll teach my students about copyright laws and how to protect their artwork online. I am still curious on how other art teachers incorporate lessons on digital citizenship into their art classes. My only concern is that this information would take an entire class period to teach and I don't want the students to miss out on their time to be creative. I will need to think of more ways to teach them about this information in a creative way that involves art.

Grumpy Cat Gets $710, 000 In Copyright

Trademark Infringement Lawsuit

(current case of copyright infringement)

Grumpy Cat

The owner of the infamous meme, Grumpy Cat is Tabitha Bundesen. Bundesen won a lawsuit against her former business partners Nick and Paul Sandford. The copyright trademark infringement was that the Sandfords had breached their contract when they tried to market two products that weren't in the agreement. These two products would also be copyright trademark infringement because the Sandford's did not have Bundesen's permission to use Grumpy Cat's face on those products. After reading this case, I can't help but find myself on Bundesen's side. Not only did the Sandford's break their contract but they also tried to do it behind the back of their business partner.

Citations

Dan. “Cartoon Copyright Information.” Cartoon Images , 2018, danscartoons.com/cartoon-copyright-information/.

Neuman, Scott. “Grumpy Cat Awarded $710,000 In Copyright Infringement Suit.” NPR, NPR, 25 Jan. 2018, www.npr.org/sections/thetwo-way/2018/01/25/580588088/grumpy-cat-awarded-710-000-in-copyright-infringement-suit.

Skidmore, Gage. “Grumpy Cat No.” Wikipedia Commons, commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Grumpy_Cat_by_Gage_Skidmore.jpg.

bottom of page