top of page

Technology and Assessment Reflection

My philosophy of technology use in the classroom is that it is very important that it is included in every classroom. With technology advancing everyday it is inevitable that students will need to be able to use technology in their future. There are many ways of including technology like vr/ar and 3d printing in my content area.

I will model and teach appropriate digital citizenship skills by having my students do research about what it means to be a good digital citizen and how to properly cite their artwork. I will model this by always citing my own artwork on my website

In the future I can see myself using 3d printing to have students 3d print a mini model of 3 vase ideas they want to create and afterward have them choose between those models and build the final vase larger and out of clay. I can also see myself using AR/VR to have students design their own world and be able to paint all around them. These technologies enable me to enhance content because it gives students a new way of thinking and a new way to problem solve. Some limitations that come along with using technology in the classroom is that some school districts which are poorly funded won’t be able to have technology for all the students to use. Also in some districts students don’t have technology at home so if a teacher was to assign a computer assignment for homework that student may be put at a disadvantage. I will use assistive technology in my classroom by having modified scissors and larger paint brushes for students who have mobility difficulties. I will continue to learn about and use new technology in the classroom by staying connected with my fellow educators (on twitter and in person) and find out what they are using. I will also continue to do research about new technologies I can use in my classroom. The most important concept I learned about in this class was how to use AR/VR and 3d printing in my classroom. This concept combines both technology and art which is something that prior to this class I had no idea how to do.

bottom of page